Snapchat Quick Add Meaning & How it Works

Snapchat is an immensely famous social media app predominantly used the youngsters.

This is the app that made ‘Stories’ famous.

Now seen on Facebook, WhatsApp, and other platforms, Stories lets your viewers see images/videos for 24 hours before it vanishes.

Apart from this feature, several other exciting features make Snapchat worth a try.

Quick Add is one of them. It lets you view similar to people you may know via mutual friends or other aspects. But, many people are still unaware of the feature and the way it works.

So, this article will focus on a few questions that will make Quick Add informative and enjoyable.

Snapchat Quick Add Meaning & How it Works

The following questions will answer everything you are curious about the Quick Add feature found in Snapchat.

1. What is Snapchat’s Quick Add?

Quick Add feature is a list of other Snapchat users whom you might know.

It is the same if you are aware of Facebook’s “People You May Know” feature. Here, Snapchat will show a list of the people you share mutual friends with.

Thus, Quick Add is a section full of friends of friends or mutual friends. For instance, your brother’s best friend or your co-worker’s sister.

Snapchat Quick Add Meaning

This feature will recommend new friends to you. You will come across a familiar name or someone you know who has recently registered in the app.

If your friends have recently deleted their old accounts and began their Snapchat journey with a new one, they will also appear on this list.

2. How does Quick Add work on Snapchat?

Similar to Facebook, where profiles match your profile, or their profile is connected to your mutual friend’s profile, Snapchat’s Quick Add works on the same algorithm.

It displays the joint profiles. So, if you have a friend called Varun in your Snapchat profile and he has a friend Kareena in his profile, then the Quick Add feature will recommend you Kareena.

Remember that sometimes Snapchat will also show profiles in Quick Add who have recently joined the app.

3. Why are random people on my Quick Add on Snapchat?

There are many reasons random people will show on your Quick Add on Snapchat.

One of the reasons. It may have happened is that you have given Snapchat access to your phone’s contact list. So, it will show you people from your phone book on Snapchat.

When someone signs up with a phone number who is already on your contact list, Snapchat may think that you know each other. This is the same feature used by Facebook and Twitter.

The other reason is ‘recently joined’. You will see this name appear under someone’s name on the Quick Add feature. What this means is that a person had just started his or her Snapchat journey and they have added a few of your friends.

Thus Snapchat, things that you may know them.

The other reason that random people are showing on your Quick Add is that when you link your Snapchat account with other social media accounts like Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram, they will also be shown as suggestions to you. Because you are connected through the aforementioned social media accounts, Snapchat will want you to click here.

4. What does it mean when someone Quick Add you on Snapchat?

Quick Add feature is in place to help users find their friends on Snapchat. So, when someone randomly sends you a request, it means that they saw your account under Quick Add.

It also means being added in a quicker way than just by searching via username.

5. Is Snapchat Quick Add based on location?

 No, Snapchat’s Quick Add is not based on location. What it is based on is your mutual friends or people you may know.

As I have explained in the earlier questions, Snapchat will show a list of the people you share mutual friends with.

6. How to remove yourself from Quick Add?

If you’re being inundated with unwanted friend requests or random people, and if you don’t want your profile to be shown on others’ profiles in the suggestion or Quick Add, you can turn off this feature from Snapchat settings.

Follow the given steps to turn off the Quick Add option:

  • Login to your Snapchat account with credentials.
  • Go to the Account Option.
  • Click on Settings which is located on the top of the right side corner of the app.
  • You will see several options there. Now, scroll down until you find “See Me In Quick Add.”
  • Click on “See Me in Quick Add.’
  • You can see if this option is checked; click on the box to uncheck it.

Once you go through these steps, your profile will not show to others in suggestions.

7. How to remove Quick Add on Snapchat?

You cannot remove the quick add feature on Snapchat, but you can get rid of the suggestions. In short, you’ll have to ignore them.

To get rid of the Quick Add suggestion, just tap on the small grey “X” button on the right. Doing so will remove the person in question. But when you do so, you are telling the app that you do not know this user, even if you do know him/her.

To turn off the Quick Add feature, refer to question 6.

Unfortunately, Quick Add cannot completely be turned off as it is a core feature of Snapchat, very much like the “People you may know” section that is built into Facebook.

FAQs

Can I sign up for Snapchat with an existing social media account?

Yes, Snapchat lets you sign up with an existing social media account. You can also sign in with an email ID.

How does Snapchat determine Quick Add?

Snapchat determines your quick add suggestions. With three things, your contacts, people you are in Group chats with, and your mutual friends. You should know that your mutual friends are friends of your friends who are on your Snap. So, if your friends start snapping someone, then they will come up in your Greek ad.

Why is Snapchat showing me unknown people in my Quick Add?

This is the floor with all social media accounts. They want the users to connect with no new users. If they find anything related between you and the other users, and if you’re not hooked on Snapchat, their accounts will start showing in Quick Add.

How do you tell if someone added you by Quick Add on Snapchat?

To know if someone added you by Quick Add on your Snapchat, you have to look underneath their name and surname. You will find a line that says ‘added by Quick Add’ or ‘added by Search.’

How to allow everyone to see my story on Snapchat?

Go to Settings on your Snapchat. Scroll down and open ‘View My Story.’ Now, set it to ‘Everyone’ instead of ‘Friends.’

Wrapping it up

There you have it.

This is everything you need to know about Snapchat’s Quick Add. With this article, you will be able to improve your Snapchat experience.

You can take advantage of Quick Add to add users based on your interests, mutual friends, or other metrics.

The benefit of Quick Add is that you can meet people you don’t know but share interests with.