There are two ways to get rid of Instagram. The first way is to disable the Instagram account temporarily and the second one is deleting it permanently.
If you want a short break from Instagram then deactivating the account seems the right option. But if you are 100% sure that you want to permanently delete your Instagram account from iPhone then keep on reading the post.
The main difference between deactivating and deleting an Instagram account permanently is that when you deactivate your Instagram account, all your photos and videos will become invisible. On the other hand, when you delete your Instagram account permanently, all your posts will be erased permanently.
How to Delete Instagram Account From iPhone Permanently
Before you delete your account, you may want to download your posts from Instagram.
STEP 1: Go to the Delete Your Account page using your iPhone’s browser(safari or chrome). If you’re not logged into Instagram on the web then you’ll be asked to log in first.
If you are wondering…
How to delete an account using the Instagram app? You simply can’t delete your account directly from the app itself.
STEP 2: On the next tab, from the dropdown menu, choose a reason why do you want to delete your account. Once you do that, re-enter your password. Now you will see an option to permanently delete your account.
STEP 3: Tap on Permanently delete my account.
Done. Your account and all your information will be deleted permanently after 30 days of the deletion request. In the meantime, your account won’t be visible to others.
How to Temporarily Disable Instagram Account From iPhone
Once you temporarily disable your account, your profile, photos, comments, and videos won’t be visible to other users unless you reactivate your account by logging in.
To temporarily disable/deactivate your account:
STEP 1: Log in to instagram.com from your iPhone browser. You can’t temporarily disable your account from the Instagram app.
STEP 2: Tap on your profile icon and then go to settings.
STEP 3: Scroll down, then tap Temporarily disable my account in the bottom right.
STEP 4: Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you disabling your account? and re-enter your password.
STEP 5: Finally, Tap Temporarily Disable Account.